Posted by: John Colby | Tuesday June 25 2019

Sandy’s Treatment – Day 189

Sandy’s Treatment – Day 189

Location Independent Working – lack of travel and more time, so writing.

Breakfast, dogs, wet walk. No, make that VERY wet walk.

Sandy’s digestive system seems to be calming down, fortunately. And she’s eating a little more with less reaction. Now all we have to do is up the quantity she eats.

Today has been swearing times two. Sandy’s has had a difficult cushion to complete, I’ve been fighting Word. Sandy’s been successful, me, less so. What I’ve been doing writing a practical intro to Excel that may keep first year students motivated to complete it.

Vet visit for dog jabs this afternoon. By then the rain had reduced to a drizzle.

It was a friend’s funeral today. I was able to go, but with her condition, distance and timing meant that I couldn’t leave Sandy that long. I hope that it was as satisfactory as it could be for his family.

Supper – Sandy, dogs, me. Variety is the name of the game.

And now completing typing this. It’s been a strange eight months, learning just how much the diagnosis of cancer takes it out of those who haven’t got it. When I was diagnosed with prostate cancer in 2011, and then treatment in 2013 and 2014 I felt weaker, obviously, and couldn’t do as much, but recovered. With Sandy the weakness is much deeper than I experienced, and her recovery slower. At least I was able to eat and keep my energy levels up. Time will tell how much she will be able to do. Her motor skills and concentration are improving, thankfully, as evidenced by her sewing. She’s getting back to her old form, so we’ll show one of her early landscape quilts, which shows influence from the artist John Miller and takes some imagery from the mouth of the Hayle River at Porth Kidney.

QuiltIMG_0723

Apparently the last cushion delivered, BobDog, has been appropriated by their daughter, and there’s photos been posted on Facebook. Glad you’re enjoying it.

Music: Trinity College Choir – A Tribute to Sir John Tavener. I have a record of his early work, the Whale, in storage somewhere.

<- Prev | Next ->


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.