Posted by: John Colby | Wednesday April 10 2024

Frustrating day – retirement planning – and handcuffs

Frustrating day – retirement planning – and handcuffs

I was supposed to have 41 in my nine o’clock. At nine I was alone, at ten past none I had one student, and twenty five past nine three more. I then felt able to start. Maybe Eid al Fitr had something to do with it … but …

The excessive wet had resulted a renewed squelch to the lawn, and preciction from farmers about food shortages as they can’t get crops in the ground and yields will be low. Mention is again made of the wettest eighteen months on record. A Facebook friend ranted today how she’d been getting annoyed (to put it more politely than she did) by people who could not see the connection.

I’m making a “where I want to go” list for when I retire as there’s a load of people asking me if I have plans for retirement – they’re worried about me getting bored. I don’t think I will be. Here’s some of the list, in no particular order, made while I was awaiting students who didn’t show today for their Viva Voce in order to defend their use of AI. As they didn’t turn up they’ve gone to disciplinary.

  • Scotland: Skye, Applecross, Inchnadamph, Stoer, Glencoe, Pitlochry, Knochan (where there is a shop), Aviemore, Strling … (all these visted between 1992 and 1997)
  • Wales: St Davids, The Gower, Harlech, Tenby, Conwy, Caernarfon, Porthmadog and Blaenau Ffestiniog, Laugharne, Manorbier, Welshpool … (some of these I’ve been to, some I haven’t) 
  • Cathedrals: Ely, Peterborough, Lichfield, Gloucester, Chester, Hereford, Worcester, Salisbury, Winchester, Chichester, Durham, York, Exeter, Norwich, St Albans … (in fact anything medieval)
  • And of course England and Cornwall. I want to visit Bradwell again – St Peter ad Muram (Saxon) especially. 

This is only the start.

I was in brief conversation with a colleague about my departure and was threatened with being handcuffed to a radiator, and this was in front of witnesses, Seeing who the colleague was, it was tempting.

Domestically, after waking at half past four and not being able to get back to sleep, tired. Chucked some cut up spuds in a nuclear reactor for supper.

Music

Giovanni Battista Gervasio (1725-1785), Sonata Per Mandolino solo e Basso (Allegro), Pizzicar Galante


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.