Posted by: John Colby | Tuesday March 26 2024

Visit to Apple – afternoon spent updating – transferring systems – lies, damned lies and politics

Visit to Apple – afternoon spent updating – transferring systems – lies, damned lies and statistics politics

Because of retirement in four months I have to adjust all my systems to be not dependent on work based apps. Hence the visit today after I’d seen Dracula’s daughter to get sorted. Passwords were reset, a minor repair to the Macbook keyboard achieved and a new indulgence in the shape of an iPad and Apple pencil. I’d been using Sandy’s iPad and that’s ten years old and it was giving up the ghost. I also want to use it as a bigger screen for the camera.

So now I have a fully function and communicating set of hardware. I’m transferring necessary information from works apps so that I’ll be independent after July. In order to do this, several hours this afternoon was given over to updating systems as every OS had decreed that it needed updating. The only problem I thought I’d have was remembering passwords, but the Apple ecosystem is saving me a lot of hassle in that regard.

Lies, damned lies and statistics politics

It is quite sobering to think that a few years ago ‘fact checking’ was new. I appears to have first come to notice with a Channel Four blog in 2005 for election fact checks. One would have thought that political parties would be more careful to get their stull right. Apparently not, as The Guardian fact checked a video put out in the London Mayor election in support of the Conservative party candidate. Not only were the stats wrong, as they claimed that crime was increasing whereas the charts show differently, but they used footage from the New York subway purporting to show a terrorist attack. 

I know Bozo was once their leader, but it seems that bozoism exists at all levels in the party organisation..

We’ll have to wait until Thursday for more Covid information. Meanwhile the search for floor will continue tomorrow.

Thanks to those who have given me more information about royalty’s gifts to the troops during WWI.

Music

Passiontide.

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750), Passio secundum Joannem BWV 245, Academy of Ancient Music, VOCES8, Apollo5, VOCES8 Foundation Choir, Barnaby Smith.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.