Posted by: John Colby | Wednesday July 19 2023

Covid Data Up Again More Sharply, Interviews Panels and Chat GPT.

Covid Data Up Again More Sharply, Interviews Panels and Chat GPT.

It’s still going up, but differing by region. We’ll compare the maps of four days ago (right) with today (left) and it’s got darker.

I’ve had to extend the Y axis for this one.

You do have to wonder if there’s a driver. A colleague mentioned today that they’d seen something of a new variant, but there’s nothing with the usual searches. 

Last interview panel today, for a while, anyway. One of my colleagues who joined us four years ago mentioned that I had taught her in her second year in 2011 and coincidentally doing her doctorate on the link between engagement and success. For this I have a load of historical and current data, so we’ll set up a meeting in the Autumn terms so that I can pass all my stuff across. Good to see that it has value.

Just signed up to Chat GPT.

Got it to write a haiku on the subject of Waves. It did. This is it.

Turbulent forces,
Crashing upon rocky shores,
Waves of wild desire.

Copied that and got it to write an academic review of the haiku it produced.

Then asked it to mark the review.

It gave itself an A.

Next time I’m going to use the Google version as well to make a comparison.

I’m now in vacation, so the next several blogs are going to be Postcards from the Periphery, featuring pix from the field trip to Cornwall. I will be travelling on Friday, tomorrow being pack up the van day. Music will have a nautical theme. I’ll also be seeing what AI generated nonsense fiction there is about some of the sites I visit. This is all a test for seeing how we can defend ourselves against false information.

Music

Caught this in Radio Three this evening as I was driving home from Sainsbury’s

Giovanni Gabrieli (c. 1554/1557-1612), Magnificat à 33 (C151), arr. Hugh Keyte, Gabrieli Consort, Paul McCreesh


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.