Posted by: John Colby | Tuesday June 30 2020

 Expanding Waistline

Expanding Waistline

The usual, breakfast, coffee, lunch, meetings, and admin. Then breadmaking and supper, a set of intentional leftovers from last night. I found out that I needed to make bread when I opened the freezer and there wasn’t any.

Leicester on Lockdown is the local story here, with the hope that it doesn’t spread our way. It seems that a long delay in publishing the necessary map. Apparently ‘imminently’ in government speak means about fifteen hours or more. Why? It was known on about June 5th or 6th that the cases in Leicester were on an upward trend.  I support that we should be used to this lack of preparedness by now, but they really aren’t getting any better. There have bene news stories about back room meetings so the left hand doesn’t know what the right hand is doing. And this evening the police commissioner is complaining about a lack of directions.

It has, of course left businesses more out of pocket in preparing for an opening, however limited. That isn’t now going to happen. Yes, they’ve had a notion of this for three weeks, dammit. But that was scientists and experts, and those people aren’t believed.

When I’m at work and I want a change of scene I’ll up from my desk with my Mac and got to the library, go to one of the coffee places, go to one of the work areas, just for a change. Here I have a choice of two places, my desk or the sofa. Both are more comfortable than the places I have at work, and also the coffee’s better. So are the biscuits. And loads less costly. However, I am now getting nearly as much exercise, and that’s a problem as I can feel the clothes getting tighter round the waist, or the remains of one.

Must get out more. And do more to the house. Really must.

Tomorrow more exam board stuff, more admin, more preparing students for resits.

Sherborne Abbey. We visited there in 2017. I first went then in 1971 to see, when it was a new concept, a Son et Lumiere.

SherborneAbbey2

Music:

Seeing as it’s the two hundred and fiftieth anniversary of his birth, we haven’t had much Beethoven recently.

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827), Concerto for Violin, Cello, and Piano in C major, Op. 56, Anne Sophie Mutter, Andre Previn, Lynn Harrellm London Philharmonic Orchestra, Kurt Masur

<- Prev| Next ->


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.