Posted by: John Colby | Sunday April 5 2020

Palm Sunday

Palm Sunday

donk4

Donkeys are lovely, gentle, fun loving, social animals. Why people mistreat them I really don’t know, but they do and that’s why The Donkey Sanctuary is so necessary. A couple of thousand years ago a young donkey played a supporting role.

Community efforts to make face masks, to knit red hearts to give to those who have loved ones in hospital, bags to put nurses’ clothes in to isolate them prior to washing, headbands, all sort of inventive stuff that people with skills can do, in some way, to assist. In our locality there has, apparently, been a great response.

Rant time.

Less good have been the responses from some sections of society. Two posts today on local Facebook groups:

This was posted by our village newsagent today. You just can’t make this up.

2cyclist came in the shop today, I asked one of them if he needed any help, he replied, I just need a few supplies to last me until I get home, because of his purchases I thought he might be on a long bike ride, I questioned him and he replied my bike club hasn’t given us any distance restrictions, I said no but the government have and you need to exercise close to home. He paid and left, Why are people still not listening. Get a grip people before you kill yourself and or others!

Comments on this complained that there was a cyclist bashing campaign. The cyclists had come from miles away. I thought it is an idiot bashing campaign, but appareenly some people know better.

Another one: Bradgate Park Trust posted yesterday:

Thank you to all that stayed away today. Sadly today our team have had to deal with abuse; ASB and dogs not being on leads. Due to the large number of people travelling to Bradgate Park and Swithland Wood local Police had to deploy extra support to our Team on the ground. We are closed, please do not travel to the Park or Swithland Wood for exercise breaking the current Lockdown Guidance (especially for this crucial weekend). We are an independent Charity with a reduced team. Show our sites and the staff on the ground respect.
We look forward to welcoming everyone back soon. Let’s all do this together. As a Charity #EveryDayCounts #StaySafeStayHome.

To reuse a well worn phrase – “What’s wrong with people?”

And then there’s the news about beaches and country areas getting flooded with visitors. What part of this don’t they understand?

Finally for this rant, I’m getting fed up with people who are posting “I’m not going to buy anything made in China” or similar. Not only is is exposing the poster as somewhat of a racist, but where do they think that the device they’re posting on was made?

End of rant. For now.

Today I’ve been chopping and stacking wood. Great therapy and practice. Also a great online chat with friends from east and west. Another one is due next Sunday.

In it we described what each of us was having for supper. Mine translated into fusion cooking – Asian, Mexican and Greek for me, using up what was languishing in the bottom of the fridge. The other in the conversation were decidedly more conventional. Other menu planning may not results n things so esoteric. I need to make a large fish pie to freeze in portions, and see what else interesting I can coax out the stuff I have. Although I’ve promised myself to make one, still don’t have a fridge/freezer inventory.

This week work sees me trying a one-to-one tutorial on a new member of staff. Be good practice. Hope I don’t put them off! The looking forward to going out for shopping on Thursday or Friday. Yes, that’s the escape highlight of the week, as it is for the vast majority of us.

Music:

Something to calm me, I think.

Ēriks Ešenvalds,(1977-), O Salutaris Hostia, Choir of Trinity College, Cambridge

Thomas Tallis (1505-1585) O sacrum convivium, Seldom Sene, recorder qunitet

<- Prev | Next ->


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.